Recipe: Cauliflower, Broccoli, & Cheese Soup

So, I have this thing. This love affair. With soup. I have no idea why. I do remember a story  my mom tells of when I was a kid (and I know I’ll get some of the details wrong, I’m sorry mom!). Apparently, we went as a family to a diner we used to frequent. I was on a kick where I really only ate chicken noodle soup, hot dogs, and turkey sandwiches – at least at this place (thank goodness I’m out of that habit, although I do still love all three). Well, I guess they were out of soup, and either out of turkey or my brother got the last one. I was inconsolable. I threw a tantrum right in the diner. I’m embarrassed about that now, but it apparently was very important to me then!

So, soup. I love it. I’ve taken recently to making my own, but it’s been mainly potato soups. Creamy potato. Creamy potato mushroom. Creamy potato corn. See the theme? I want to branch out and make more of my own. My friend Lissa posted on Facebook some soup she was eating recently, and it inspired me to make my own. So, I present to you, CAULIFLOWER, BROCCOLI, AND CHEESE SOUP. It works best if you say the name in a loud, booming, movie-trailer style voice. It sounds very exciting that way, and it makes me think the soup will be involved in some fiery car chases.

IMG_9185

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 celery rib, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 500 g broccoli florets (frozen & thawed, or fresh)
  • half a head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 3-4 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 4 cups stock/broth (mix of veggie and chicken)
  • 150 ml cream
  • 200 g shredded cheddar cheese
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • seasonings to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a stock pot. Saute onion, garlic, and celery until tender, about 4 minutes.
  2. Mix in broccoli, potato, cauliflower, and broth, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes, or until vegetables are tender. Remove from heat.
  3. Using an immersion blender, blend the soup until it reaches the desired consistency. Return to heat, add cream, seasonings, and cheese, and stir. Heat through, ensuring cheese is melted.
  4. Serve garnished with a pinch of shredded cheese.

Notes:

Oh my. Ohhh myyyy. This was utterly delish. My immersion blender has become my best friend, and it did it’s job so well. I had some small chunks of veg throughout, so it wasn’t silky smooth, and that was utterly perfect.

First, fresh veggies are a must. If you need to use frozen, find the best quality you can. There are some things that shouldn’t be compromised – quality of fresh produce is one of them.

IMG_9186

In addition, use a nice cheddar that you enjoy eating on its own. Don’t just blindly grab the cheapest bag of pre-shredded cheese that the grocery store has. I picked up a 200 g block of English cheddar, a nice sharp cheddar, and shredded it myself while the veggies were simmering. It didn’t take long, and it lent a beautiful flavour to the soup. I would absolutely use a nice sharp Irish cheddar, maybe some Emmental, whatever your little heart desires.

It didn’t last long. This could easily make 6-8 servings (or more, depending on bowl size). We both just downed our first servings, and went back for more, although not a full serving each again.

As for seasonings, again use what your tastes are. I added a dash of rosemary, some basil, some thyme, some black pepper, a toss of greek seasoning. I just kept adding bit by bit until I found a taste I liked. Luckily, the SO will eat pretty much anything I put on a plate or bowl in front of him, so I really only have to rely on my own taste buds.

Cheers! Let your taste buds be your guide. 🙂

About heatherbcn

Canadian gal who recently relocated to Europe. Tag along as I make my way through the sunshine and explore life here!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Yummy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe: Cauliflower, Broccoli, & Cheese Soup

  1. Nancy Nopants says:

    Mmmm….drooly drool droolz!!!!

Leave a Reply

