Spring has Sprung!

Spring has sprung, the grass is riz…

When I look out my window and see the weather I can enjoy every day, I do feel a might bit bad for my friends back in Canada – especially lately, when many of them had snowfall in the first few days of April. At the same time, I feel a bit smug, as I haven’t had to deal with snow since mid-January.

*ahem*

On to the reason for the post: the nice weather. Although it’s been sunny and ‘warm’ throughout most of March, the wind was always just a *bit* too much for the sun to stretch its warming rays into your skin. I was still wearing a spring jacket through the end of the month. Then, the rain hit. It doesn’t rain all that often here, but when it does, there are two kinds: Quick showers, usually overnight or when I happen to be inside somewhere (say, getting groceries), or a good, long rainstorm that spans several days. This was the second kind. It started around April 1, and didn’t let up for three days. It didn’t rain the whole time, but it was dark, overcast and chilly. We holed up in our apartment and didn’t do a whole lot. It was unfortunate that this was directly on the heels of Daylight Savings, as the two coupled together made for a lethargic and slightly cranky me.

On the last day of the rain, we decided to just go out anyway. We had some errands to run, they needed to get done. So I dug out my warmer coat with a hood, and we braved the chilly rain to get shit done. Ugh. When we got home, I bundled up in fleecy pyjamas, a Snuggie, and had some hot chocolate.

The following morning, this past Friday, I awoke without optimism. I thought it would definitely still be raining. Nope! It was bright and sunny! And my weather app said it would get to *21* degrees that afternoon! Holy crap! We bounded out of bed, got ready quickly, and went to run the final errand we didn’t get to the day before. No jacket. Not even the light one.

Then what? It was glorious. No way did I want to be inside. My skin was aching to get sun-kissed. So we went for a walk. A long, long walk. I walked almost 10 kms on Friday. Often, we will go to the zoo, walk around, say hello to the giraffes, then walk through the park on the other side out to the Arc de Triomf. This time, we came at it from the other direction. We walked and walked and ended up right by the Arc. We stopped and had a quick bite at a little cafe; my body needed a brief rest, as it hadn’t had much in the way of exercise over the prior few days.

Passeig Sant Joan

The area outside the cafe had these lovely little green areas, which aren’t too common throughout Barcelona. There were gorgeous wooden benches dotted along the sidewalk.

Then, we crossed the street and wandered under the Arc and down the beautiful walkway that split Passeig de Lluis Companys in two:

Passeig de Lluis Companys Passeig de Lluis Companys

Then, we went into Parc de la Ciutadella. Again, we normally just skirt along the dirt path from the Zoo to the walkway above, but have never actually explored the park. Oh my. Why did we wait?

Parc de la Ciutadella

This was the first thing we encountered, this lovely sculpture. The top piece actually moves with the breeze/wind.

Parc de la Ciutadella

This fountain, almost hidden in the park, is absolutely beautiful. There are stairs on either side where you can walk up to the top (we will do that another time). There were ducks chilling in the water! We stood for a few minutes, just watching and drinking it in.

Parc de la Ciutadella

We walked around a bit more and encountered this little lake. Notice the people in boats – you can rent a little boat for 6€ a half hour (2 people). We think we may want to do that at some point as well. It was cool to just watch everyone enjoy themselves.

Parc de la Ciutadella

We walked around a bit more, then found a bench to just relax on. We must have sat there for at least half an hour. Then, some friends came to say hello. I managed to snap a few pictures before they were scared back to the water by some kids trying to pick them up. Mama Duck wasn’t too impressed, and she hissed at the kids a couple of times.

Parc de la CiutadellaThe other view from the bench.

I need to work on my camera skills – lots of these seem slightly tilted!

It was an absolutely beautiful day. We spent close to six hours out in the sun, just walking around. My FitBit was very happy with me, as I met almost all of my goals for the day – especially the distance goal.

I can’t wait to share this with the friends that are coming to visit the summer, and I wish speedy Spring to everyone who hasn’t yet been able to walk around without a jacket.

Cheers to Spring!

 

About heatherbcn

Canadian gal who recently relocated to Europe. Tag along as I make my way through the sunshine and explore life here!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring has Sprung!

  1. Nancy Nopants says:

    OMG!!! Soooo gorgeous!!! 72 days til I leave the Great White North…73 til I land in what appears to be paradise!!!

  2. Nancy Nopants says:

    I most definitely saw all those palm trees!!! I can’t wait to get under them!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

